Skip to main content
Paddy Naughton, EduCampus CEO and Mr. David Smith, EduCampus Board Chairperson

Mr. David Smith, EduCampus Board Chairperson and Paddy Naughton, EduCampus CEO

The EduCampus Board is delighted to announce the appointment of Mr. David Smith as new Board Chairperson with effect from 1st April 2024. David takes over from Dr Joseph Ryan, CEO of THEA, who recently retired from the EduCampus Board.

David Smith is President of the Institute of Art, Design and Technology, Dún Laoghaire (IADT) since 2020.  Widely recognised as Ireland’s campus for the Creative Industries, IADT is a uniquely mandated Technological Higher education institution and home to Ireland’s National Film School.
As a former Head of Faculty of Film, Art and Creative Technologies at IADT, he has extensive experience in higher education, teaching & learning and professional practice as a designer.

David is a committed advocate for the Creative Industries and advancing the cultural and economic value of the sector. He was on the steering group and advisory panel for the year of Irish Design 2015; and more recently has been an advisor and contributor to the National Strategy for Design and founding member of Design Educator’s Ireland. He is a co-founder of the 100Archive (, a national digital repository established to record and capture the history and practices of communication design. He was the first Irish member of the prestigious professional body, Alliance Graphique Internationale ( and a former VP and International Secretary to the organisation.

Speaking of the appointment, EduCampus, Chief Executive Officer, Paddy Naughton highlighted

“I’m delighted that David Smith has been appointed as Chairperson. As we develop our new strategic plan, it is especially important that we continue to expand our range of services for clients across the education sector. With his dedication to advancing the teaching and learning experience across Ireland’s educational sector, and his knowledge of the Board, the Group and the Company, David Smith adds invaluable knowledge and higher education leadership experience to our Board at a critical point in our history. I am very much looking forward to collaborating with him over the coming years.”

Commenting on his appointment, David Smith, President of IADT and EduCampus Chairperson stated,

“I am honoured to be appointed as Chairperson of the EduCampus Board of Directors. EduCampus is entering an exciting phase in its vision to empowering higher education through quality IT shared services. I am delighted to lead the Board and support the organisation in the continued achievement of its goals. I have been very fortunate to have had the opportunity to serve on the EduCampus Board under the exceptionally strong leadership of Dr. Joseph Ryan as Chairperson and look forward to supporting the company in building upon the success of my predecessor.”

Former Chairperson, Dr. Joseph Ryan retired on April 1st 2024 and the wider Board and Management wish to express its gratitude to Dr. Ryan for his invaluable contribution to the Board and Company during his tenure as Chairperson for eight years, and wish him every success for the future.